The Sonic Memorial


The Sonic Memorial

The Sonic Memorial
unique in its kind, because it uses the non-visual medium of sound as a tool for commemorating, instead of static or moving images, the Memorial belongs to The 7 Memorials for Humanity – a media art environment, created and curated between 2010 and 2018 by the Cologne based media artist & curator- Wilfried Agricola de Cologne.

The Memorial is consisting of two individual sonic art projects –

1. soundCollective – collective trauma, identity and sonic art
2. soundMigration – migration in a global context and sonic art

“soundCOLLECTIVE” – collective trauma, identity and sonic art
was released on 9 November 2015 – commemorating the “Night of Broken Glass” (9 November 1938 /Reichskristallnacht), when the NAZI in Germany were destroying the synagogues nationwide in one single night.

The project, initiated by Wilfried Agricola de Cologne would like to sentitize people via sonic art for the phenomenon of collective trauma. The non-visual medium of soundart has a particular potential to express affection via a wide range of soundtools.

SoundLAB has been an active project environment between 2004 and 2010 – featuring each year another edition of soundart online – in total 7 editions – see also

Sound artists from all over the world were invited to submit a sound piece dealing with collective trauma. There is no need to go back 70 years ago, but collective trauma happens every day before our very eyes in the media whether via desasters of nature, genocides, the refugees persecuted and expelled from their home countries in Africa or Middle East,. collective trauma is currently touching everyone’s life more or less dramatically. So, it is more than worth to express one’s feelings and emotions via artistic media like soundart.

Since 2016 “soundCOLLECTIVE” is also corporate part of “://self~imaging – artist show face against Intolerance, Racism, Xenophobia and Antisemitism –

has been initiated in 2017 for The W:OW Project – We Are One World . The title refers to the current global phenomenon of migration, but goes actually down to the philosophical aspect of migrating as an active and evolutionary process in human existence, offering desaster and chance, hope and despair alike. Migrating means always to leave the familiar surroundings of the homeland, in order to find elsewhere more appropriate conditions for survival. There are many reason why people start migrating, to escape persecution and murder, expulsion, climate change or poverty.
The invited artists commemorate the migrants and their motivations to change the Present for a better Future with the tools of sonic associations.
The project of “soundMigration” is including two curators- Wilfried Agricola as the initiator and chief chief curator and as a guest curator – Rainer Krause, a reknown soundartist based in Chile.


“soundCOLLECTIVE” – collective trauma, identity and sonic art
soundMIGRATION – migration in a global context & sonic art
are project initiated and curated by Wilfried AGricola de Cologne
copyright © 2015-2018

All soundart works
copyright © by the artists